License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Texas



Highlights

34 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
17th most burdensome licensing laws
32nd most extensively and onerously licensed state

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Summary

Texas licenses 34 lower-income occupations, fewer than most states, but has the 17th most burdensome licensing laws. These laws impose an average of $304 in fees, 326 days of training and two exams on those wishing to enter licensed occupations. Texas can promote employment for low-income workers by reducing these high barriers -- or eliminating them altogether.

Texas outpaces most other states' education and experience requirements for a few occupations. Because they must be licensed teachers, aspiring school sports coaches lose four years to education, one of only four states to require anything remotely close to that. Texas is the only state to require more than two weeks of training to become a backflow prevention assembly tester, and it requires two years.

Aspiring practitioners in Texas also face high fees. For example, fishers must pay fees of $4,800 -- 10 times higher than the average fee of $403. Texas is also one of only five states to license shampooers, requiring a worker to pay $128 in fees and to pass two exams in order to wash somebody's hair.

In Texas, it takes just 33 days of training to earn a license as an emergency medical technician. But it takes substantially more to become a licensed massage therapist (117 days), manicurist (140), skin care specialist (175), cosmetologist (350) or barber (350). Occupations like these, where training required does not line up with public safety concerns, make possible targets for reform, as well as occupations that are more difficult to enter in Texas than elsewhere.

(Last updated May 2, 2012)

Licensing Requirements

Burden RankOccupationNumber of States that LicenseFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Preschool Teacher 49 $117 1,825 2 0 18
2 Athletic Trainer 46 $669 1,460 3 0 0
3 Coach (School Sports) 24 $0 1,460 0 0 0
4 HVAC Contractor (General/Commercial) 40 $178 1,095 1 0 18
5 Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester 18 $111 739 1 12 0
6 Fire Alarm Installer 34 $58 733 1 0 18
6 Security Alarm Installer 34 $58 733 1 0 18
8 Midwife 29 $275 730 2 0 0
9 Earth Driller 47 $270 730 1 0 0
10 Cosmetologist 51 $178 350 2 12 17
11 Barber 50 $70 350 2 0 16
12 Pest Control Applicator 51 $115 381 1 0 0
13 Skin Care Specialist 50 $181 175 2 12 17
14 Manicurist 50 $53 140 2 12 0
15 Massage Therapist 39 $204 117 3 0 18
16 Emergency Medical Technician 51 $134 33 2 12 18
17 Auctioneer 33 $175 19 1 12 18
18 School Bus Driver 51 $76 3 6 0 18
19 Fisher 41 $4,800 0 0 0 0
20 Child Care Worker 33 $2 2 0 12 18
21 Bus Driver (City/Transit) 51 $76 0 5 0 18
22 Truck Driver 51 $61 0 4 0 18
23 Security Guard 37 $58 7 2 0 18
24 Animal Trainer 20 $87 0 2 0 18
25 Door Repair Contractor 35 $500 0 0 0 18
25 Iron/Steel Contractor (General/Commercial) 31 $500 0 0 0 18
27 Vegetation Pesticide Handler 51 $204 0 3 0 0
28 Locksmith 13 $45 0 0 0 18
29 Optician 22 $105 1 2 0 0
30 Mobile Home Installer 39 $600 3 1 0 0
31 Shampooer 5 $128 0 2 0 0
32 Milk Sampler 34 $0 1 1 0 0
33 Animal Control Officer 17 $115 2 0 0 0
34 Travel Guide 21 $125 0 0 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012