License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Ohio



Highlights

31 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
16th most burdensome licensing laws
39th most extensively and onerously licensed state

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Summary

Ohio licenses 31 of the 102 low- to moderate-income occupations studied, fewer than most states, but it imposes substantial burdens on workers wishing to enter those occupations. Ohio has the 16th most burdensome licensing laws, with average requirements of $137 in fees, 341 days and one exam.

In some of the 31 licensed occupations, Ohio has exceptionally high barriers compared to the other states. For example, aspiring commercial HVAC contractors lose five years to experience before getting a license, more than twice the national average. Ohio requires that school bus drivers possess a driver's license for two years prior to working. Thirty-one states have no such requirement, requiring instead tests, fees, a minimum age and in some states a short course or training session. Ohio is one of only five states that require a year or more of training to become an auctioneer. Ohio is also one of only three states to license dietetic technicians and one of seven states to license social and human service assistants. The state requires two years of training to perform both of these jobs.

Some of Ohio's licensure requirements also appear excessive compared to those of other occupations licensed by the state. For example, Ohio requires aspiring emergency medical technicans to undertake only about one month of training. But skin care specialists must complete 140 days, massage therapists 175 days and cosmetologists 350 days, and auctioneers and barbers must train for more than a year.

Ohio could expand its low-income workers' job prospects by reducing or eliminating such burdensome licensing laws.

(Last updated May 2, 2012)

Licensing Requirements

Burden RankOccupationNumber of States that LicenseFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 HVAC Contractor (General/Commercial) 40 $85 1,825 1 0 18
2 Preschool Teacher 49 $80 1,825 1 0 0
3 Athletic Trainer 46 $400 1,460 2 0 0
4 School Bus Driver 51 $205 735 6 0 18
5 Veterinary Technologist 37 $281 730 1 0 0
6 Dietetic Technician 3 $0 730 1 0 0
7 Social and Human Service Assistant 7 $40 730 0 0 0
8 Optician 22 $96 467 2 12 18
9 Barber 50 $120 420 2 8 18
10 Auctioneer 33 $440 384 3 0 18
11 Cosmetologist 51 $76 350 2 10 16
12 Mobile Home Installer 39 $370 377 1 0 0
13 Massage Therapist 39 $285 175 1 12 0
14 Skin Care Specialist 50 $51 140 2 10 16
14 Makeup Artist 36 $51 140 2 10 16
16 Emergency Medical Technician 51 $70 30 2 12 18
17 Manicurist 50 $76 47 2 10 0
18 Bus Driver (City/Transit) 51 $162 0 5 0 18
19 Truck Driver 51 $119 0 4 0 18
20 Gaming Dealer 24 $250 0 0 0 21
20 Gaming Supervisor 23 $250 0 0 0 21
20 Gaming Cage Worker 22 $250 0 0 0 21
20 Slot Key Person 21 $250 0 0 0 21
24 Teacher Assistant 29 $25 0 0 12 0
25 Pest Control Applicator 51 $35 0 2 0 0
25 Vegetation Pesticide Handler 51 $35 0 2 0 0
27 Milk Sampler 34 $15 0 1 0 0
28 Security Guard 37 $50 0 0 0 0
28 Travel Guide 21 $50 0 0 0 0
30 Weigher 24 $10 0 0 0 0
30 Animal Breeder 26 $10 0 0 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012