License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Teacher Assistant



Highlights

License required in 29 states
44th most burdensome licensing requirements
41st most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Teacher assistants, also known as teacher aides, paraprofessionals and paraeducators, perform duties that are instructional in nature or deliver direct services to students or parents. They serve in a position for which a teacher or another professional has ultimate responsibility for the design and implementation of educational programs and services.

Summary

Teacher assistants require licenses in 29 states, though the requirements vary. (In addition, the federal No Child Left Behind Act sets special requirements for teaching assistants who work in schools that receive federal Title I funding.) Ten states require education or training, ranging from two years of coursework in Arkansas, California, Georgia and Hawaii or two years of training in Virginia and West Virginia, to less than three days of courses in Nebraska. Twenty-three states require an exam. The most common requirement, found in all regulated states but one, is completion of high school.

Teacher assistants face the 44th most burdensome average requirements, and the occupation ranks as the 41st most widely and onerously licensed.

(Last updated May 1, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Hawaii $45 730 1 12 0
1 California $45 730 1 12 0
1 Georgia $45 730 1 12 0
1 West Virginia $45 730 1 12 0
5 Arkansas $325 730 0 12 0
6 Virginia $0 730 0 12 0
7 Mississippi $555 21 0 12 18
8 Nebraska $325 3 1 12 0
9 Maine $80 0 0 12 18
10 New Mexico $48 0 0 12 18
11 New Jersey $115 0 1 12 0
12 Rhode Island $45 7 1 12 0
12 Illinois $45 7 1 12 0
14 Alabama $50 0 1 12 0
15 Tennessee $45 0 1 12 0
15 Louisiana $45 0 1 12 0
15 Montana $45 0 1 12 0
15 Arizona $45 0 1 12 0
15 Kansas $45 0 1 12 0
15 Nevada $45 0 1 12 0
15 Pennsylvania $45 0 1 12 0
15 Wyoming $45 0 1 12 0
15 Alaska $45 0 1 12 0
15 Massachusetts $45 0 1 12 0
15 Minnesota $45 0 1 12 0
26 New York $35 0 1 12 0
27 Utah $0 0 1 12 0
28 Ohio $25 0 0 12 0
29 Indiana $45 0 1 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012