License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Skin Care Specialist



Highlights

License required in 50 states
38th most burdensome licensing requirements
8th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Skin care specialists, also known as estheticians, aestheticians, spa technicians and facialists, among other titles, provide skin care treatments to face and body to enhance an individual's appearance.

Summary

Except for Connecticut, every state and the District of Columbia require a license to work as a skin care specialist. On average, these laws cost those wishing to enter the occupation 149 days of education and training and $120 in fees and require two exams, the 38th most burdensome requirements of those studied. Both because of the relatively high average burdens and because skin care specialists are licensed so widely, it is in the most widely and onerously licensed tier of occupations, ranking eighth overall.

Most states have minimum age and grade requirements for skin care specialists, as well as one or two exams. Education and experience requirements, however, show more variation. In Alabama and Florida, aspiring skin care specialists lose 280 days -- more than nine months -- to education and training, while those in Pennsylvania, Delaware and Massachusetts lose 70 days.

(Last updated May 1, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Florida $125 280 2 12 16
2 Alabama $135 280 2 10 16
3 Kentucky $200 233 2 12 18
4 Kansas $135 233 2 12 17
5 Georgia $119 233 2 12 17
6 Nevada $90 210 2 12 18
7 Texas $181 175 2 12 17
8 Missouri $165 175 2 10 17
9 Illinois $203 175 1 12 16
10 Louisiana $75 175 2 10 16
11 Tennessee $190 175 2 0 16
12 Indiana $99 163 2 10 18
13 Vermont $185 140 3 12 18
14 Montana $60 152 1 12 18
15 South Dakota $80 140 3 12 18
16 Arizona $185 140 2 10 23
17 Washington, D.C. $230 140 2 8 17
18 New Mexico $50 140 3 10 17
19 New Hampshire $154 140 3 12 0
20 New Jersey $110 140 2 12 17
21 Arkansas $140 140 2 10 16
22 Mississippi $85 140 2 12 17
23 California $115 140 2 10 17
24 Maine $101 140 2 10 17
25 Rhode Island $50 140 2 12 18
26 West Virginia $159 140 1 12 18
27 Wyoming $90 140 2 10 16
28 Maryland $100 140 2 9 17
29 Idaho $57 140 2 10 16.5
30 Ohio $51 140 2 10 16
31 Minnesota $141 140 2 12 0
32 Iowa $115 140 2 12 0
33 Oklahoma $40 140 2 8 16
34 Hawaii $60 140 1 12 16
35 Nebraska $47 140 1 12 17
36 Colorado $165 140 2 0 16
37 North Dakota $50 140 2 12 0
38 Utah $234 140 2 0 0
39 New York $55 140 2 0 17
40 Washington $30 140 2 0 17
41 Virginia $170 140 2 0 0
42 North Carolina $119 140 2 0 0
43 Wisconsin $202 105 2 12 18
44 South Carolina $165 105 2 10 16
45 Oregon $73 117 2 0 0
46 Michigan $64 93 2 9 17
47 Alaska $205 82 2 0 0
48 Pennsylvania $159 70 2 10 16
49 Delaware $143 70 2 10 16
50 Massachusetts $57 70 0 0 16

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012