License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Barber



Highlights

License required in 50 states
13th most burdensome licensing requirements
5th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Barbers or stylists provide barbering services, such as cutting, trimming, shampooing and styling hair, trimming beards or giving shaves.

Summary

Forty-nine states and the District of Columbia require a license to work as a barber; only Alabama does not. On average, these laws cost aspiring barbers 416 days in education and training and $130 in fees and require them to pass one written and one practical exam -- the 13th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. And, because barbers are licensed so widely, the occupation ranks as the fifth most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

License requirements for barbers vary widely across states. Nevada has the most burdensome requirements with nearly two-and-a-half years lost to education and an apprenticeship, four exams and $140 in fees. At the other end of the spectrum, Wyoming requires 175 days of education, one written and one practical exam and $125 in fees.

(Last updated May 3, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Nevada $140 890 4 10 18
2 New York $60 884 3 0 17
3 South Dakota $200 715 3 10 18
4 North Dakota $200 727 2 12 0
5 Massachusetts $103 733 3 0 16
6 Minnesota $125 700 4 10 0
7 North Carolina $120 722 3 0 0
8 Maine $61 653 3 10 17
9 Kentucky $330 620 2 12 17.5
10 Idaho $100 630 3 10 16.5
11 Nebraska $110 490 2 12 17
12 West Virginia $85 467 3 12 18
13 Michigan $20 467 2 10 17
14 Iowa $280 420 2 10 16
15 Wisconsin $203 420 2 12 18
16 Ohio $120 420 2 8 18
17 Kansas $180 350 3 12 16
18 Tennessee $215 350 2 10 17
19 Alaska $290 385 2 0 0
20 Arkansas $115 350 3 8 16.5
21 Montana $115 350 2 12 18
22 South Carolina $165 350 2 9 17
23 Arizona $140 350 2 10 16
24 California $125 350 2 10 17
24 Missouri $125 350 2 10 17
26 Rhode Island $75 350 2 12 18
27 Illinois $142 350 1 12 16
28 Washington, D.C. $230 350 2 0 18
29 Louisiana $90 350 1 12 18
30 Georgia $95 350 2 7 16
31 Mississippi $125 350 2 0 17
32 Delaware $95 350 2 10 0
33 Indiana $90 350 2 0 18
34 Colorado $95 350 2 0 16
35 Oklahoma $70 350 2 0 16
35 Texas $70 350 2 0 16
37 Virginia $225 350 2 0 0
38 Hawaii $45 350 2 0 17
39 Connecticut $50 350 1 8 0
40 New Mexico $125 280 3 10 17
41 Pennsylvania $159 292 2 8 16
42 New Jersey $110 280 2 12 17
43 Florida $242 280 2 0 16
44 Vermont $120 233 3 12 18
45 Maryland $60 280 2 0 0
46 Oregon $73 257 2 0 0
47 Washington $0 233 2 0 17
48 New Hampshire $124 187 2 12 16
49 Utah $147 233 2 0 0
50 Wyoming $125 175 2 12 17

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012