License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Midwife



Highlights

License required in 29 states
7th most burdensome licensing requirements
21st most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Midwives provide prenatal care and childbirth assistance.

Summary

Twenty-eight states and the District of Columbia require a license to work as a midwife. On average, these laws cost aspiring midwives 700
days in education and training, $619 and require them to take an exam -- the 7th most burdensome set of requirements among the occupations studied.

The education and experience requirements are relatively consistent among the states that license midwives: All but three require two years of education and experience. Florida requires three years, while California requires less than one year, and Arkansas has no requirement at all. Licensing fees, on the other hand, range from $100 in several states to $3,688 in Alaska. Ten states mandate a minimum age ranging from 18 to 21, while 13 states require aspiring midwives to pass 12th grade.

(Last updated May 1, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Florida $1,200 1,095 2 12 21
2 Alaska $3,688 730 1 12 18
3 Arizona $150 730 3 12 18
4 Washington $750 730 2 12 21
5 New Hampshire $920 730 3 12 0
6 Louisiana $450 730 2 12 21
7 Montana $1,350 730 1 12 21
8 Colorado $900 730 1 12 19
9 New York $305 730 1 12 21
10 Alabama $285 730 1 12 0
11 West Virginia $252 730 1 12 0
12 Vermont $100 730 1 12 0
13 Oregon $2,100 730 1 0 0
14 Washington, D.C. $430 730 1 0 18
15 South Carolina $400 730 2 0 0
16 New Jersey $125 730 1 0 18
17 Texas $275 730 2 0 0
18 Tennessee $1,000 730 1 0 0
19 Wisconsin $753 730 1 0 0
20 Connecticut $380 730 1 0 0
21 Virginia $277 730 1 0 0
22 Georgia $240 730 1 0 0
23 Minnesota $225 730 1 0 0
24 Rhode Island $130 730 1 0 0
25 New Mexico $100 730 1 0 0
25 Utah $100 730 1 0 0
27 Delaware $0 730 1 0 0
28 California $366 238 2 0 0
29 Arkansas $700 0 2 12 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012