License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Manicurist



Highlights

License required in 50 states
65th most burdensome licensing requirements
14th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Manicurists and pedicurists, also known as nail technicians, clean and shape customers' fingernails and toenails and may polish or decorate nails.

Summary

Forty-nine states and the District of Columbia require a license to work as a manicurist; only Connecticut does not. On average, these laws cost aspiring manicurists 87 days in education and training and $91 in fees and require them to take two exams -- the 65th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. However, because manicurists are licensed so widely, it ranks as the 14th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

License requirements for manicurists vary widely across states. Alabama has the most burdensome requirements at 163 days lost to education and training, two exams and $135 in fees, while another 13 states require 100 days or more. At the other end of the spectrum, Iowa requires only nine days and one exam and Alaska only about three days and two exams.

(Last updated May 1, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Alabama $135 163 2 0 0
2 Kentucky $87 140 2 10 0
3 Texas $53 140 2 12 0
4 Arkansas $60 140 2 10 0
5 Tennessee $190 140 2 0 0
6 Oklahoma $40 140 2 8 0
7 Arizona $140 140 2 0 0
8 Oregon $98 140 2 0 0
9 Colorado $95 140 2 0 0
10 Washington $0 140 2 0 0
11 Nevada $142 117 2 10 0
12 Louisiana $75 117 2 10 0
13 Georgia $45 123 2 0 0
14 Indiana $50 105 2 8 0
15 West Virginia $50 93 3 8 0
16 Vermont $70 93 2 12 0
17 Idaho $100 93 2 10 0
18 Wyoming $97 93 2 10 0
19 California $35 93 2 10 0
20 Michigan $39 93 2 9 0
21 Missouri $120 93 2 0 0
22 South Dakota $75 93 2 0 0
23 Washington, D.C. $230 82 2 8 0
24 Kansas $140 82 2 12 0
25 Minnesota $90 82 2 12 0
26 Mississippi $85 82 2 12 0
27 New Mexico $70 82 2 10 0
28 Montana $45 82 1 12 0
29 North Dakota $50 82 2 0 0
30 Hawaii $200 82 1 0 0
31 New Hampshire $119 70 2 12 0
32 New Jersey $110 70 2 12 0
33 Nebraska $30 72 2 12 0
34 South Carolina $120 70 2 10 0
35 Rhode Island $31 70 2 12 0
36 Illinois $30 82 1 0 0
37 Wisconsin $174 70 2 0 0
38 Utah $135 70 2 0 0
39 North Carolina $10 70 2 0 0
40 Florida $165 56 2 10 0
41 Maryland $100 58 2 9 0
42 New York $35 58 2 0 0
43 Ohio $76 47 2 10 0
44 Maine $55 47 2 10 0
45 Pennsylvania $149 47 2 0 0
46 Virginia $55 35 2 0 0
47 Delaware $40 29 2 10 0
48 Massachusetts $0 23 2 0 0
49 Alaska $240 3 2 0 0
50 Iowa $180 9 1 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012