License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Auctioneer



Highlights

License required in 33 states
60th most burdensome licensing requirements
31st most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Auctioneers appraise and estimate the value of items, such as paintings, antiques, jewelry, cameras, musical instruments, machinery and fixtures for loan, insurance or sale purposes and may sell merchandise at auction.

Summary

Thirty-two states and the District of Columbia require a license to work as an auctioneer. On average, these laws cost aspiring auctioneers 100 days in education and training and $307 in fees and require them to take one exam -- the 60th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. However, because auctioneers are licensed widely, it ranks as the 31st most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

License requirements for auctioneers vary widely across states. Tennessee has the most burdensome requirements at 756 days lost to education and an apprenticeship, one written and one apprenticeship exam and $650 in fees. At the other end of the spectrum, D.C. only requires an auctioneer to be 18 years old and Hawaii only has a $15 fee. Twenty-eight of the 33 states require between zero and 45 days of education and no apprenticeship.

(Last updated May 3, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Tennessee $650 756 2 12 18
2 Kentucky $305 730 2 12 18
3 West Virginia $200 730 3 0 18
4 Ohio $440 384 3 0 18
5 Alabama $350 385 2 0 19
6 Illinois $671 45 1 12 18
7 Georgia $700 19 2 12 18
8 North Carolina $614 19 2 12 18
9 Florida $1,000 19 2 0 18
10 Mississippi $300 19 1 12 18
11 South Carolina $870 19 2 0 18
12 Texas $175 19 1 12 18
13 Rhode Island $725 19 1 0 18
14 Louisiana $475 19 1 0 18
15 Alaska $520 0 2 0 18
16 Massachusetts $100 19 1 0 18
17 Indiana $95 19 1 0 18
18 North Dakota $35 19 0 0 18
19 Wisconsin $135 0 1 0 18
20 South Dakota $245 19 1 0 0
21 New Hampshire $115 19 1 0 0
22 Virginia $90 19 1 0 0
23 Washington $255 0 0 0 18
24 Maine $396 0 1 0 0
25 Pennsylvania $220 5 1 0 0
26 Minnesota $20 0 0 0 18
27 Washington, D.C. $0 0 0 0 18
28 Vermont $225 9 0 0 0
29 Delaware $75 0 0 0 0
30 Missouri $52 0 0 0 0
31 California $30 0 0 0 0
32 Idaho $20 0 0 0 0
33 Hawaii $15 0 0 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012