License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Athletic Trainer



Highlights

License required in 46 states
3rd most burdensome licensing requirements
2nd most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Athletic trainers, also known as sports medicine coordinators, evaluate, advise and treat athletes to assist recovery from injury, avoid injury or maintain peak physical fitness.

Summary

Forty-five states and the District of Columbia require a license to work as an athletic trainer. On average, these laws cost aspiring trainers four years in education and training and $443 in fees and require them to take one exam -- the 3rd most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

All licensed states require a four-year education and a national written exam to become an athletic trainer. The number of exams varies from three -- one national written, one oral practical and one written simulation exam -- in Texas and Alabama to none in Colorado, the only state that does not require the national written exam. Fees also vary widely from $1,050 in Montana to nothing in Colorado.

(Last updated April 30, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 New Jersey $370 1,460 1 12 18
2 Oregon $900 1,460 2 0 18
3 Texas $669 1,460 3 0 0
4 Alabama $535 1,460 3 0 0
5 Montana $1,050 1,460 1 0 0
6 Florida $525 1,460 1 0 21
7 New York $450 1,460 1 0 21
8 New Mexico $590 1,460 2 0 0
9 Nebraska $417 1,460 1 0 19
10 Louisiana $425 1,460 1 0 18
11 Oklahoma $475 1,460 2 0 0
12 Tennessee $460 1,460 2 0 0
13 Ohio $400 1,460 2 0 0
14 Georgia $350 1,460 2 0 0
15 Arizona $610 1,460 1 0 0
16 Nevada $600 1,460 1 0 0
17 Maine $521 1,460 1 0 0
18 Connecticut $510 1,460 1 0 0
19 Illinois $500 1,460 1 0 0
20 Washington $475 1,460 1 0 0
21 Minnesota $450 1,460 1 0 0
21 New Hampshire $450 1,460 1 0 0
23 Massachusetts $447 1,460 1 0 0
24 Virginia $435 1,460 1 0 0
25 Arkansas $425 1,460 1 0 0
26 Iowa $420 1,460 1 0 0
26 Idaho $420 1,460 1 0 0
28 Delaware $403 1,460 1 0 0
29 Mississippi $400 1,460 1 0 0
29 Kentucky $400 1,460 1 0 0
29 North Carolina $400 1,460 1 0 0
29 Missouri $400 1,460 1 0 0
29 Vermont $400 1,460 1 0 0
29 South Dakota $400 1,460 1 0 0
35 Kansas $380 1,460 1 0 0
36 Utah $370 1,460 1 0 0
37 Rhode Island $362 1,460 1 0 0
38 Indiana $355 1,460 1 0 0
39 Wisconsin $353 1,460 1 0 0
40 South Carolina $350 1,460 1 0 0
40 North Dakota $350 1,460 1 0 0
42 Pennsylvania $320 1,460 1 0 0
43 Wyoming $300 1,460 1 0 0
43 Washington, D.C. $300 1,460 1 0 0
45 Michigan $275 1,460 1 0 0
46 Colorado $0 1,460 0 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012