License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Door Repair Contractor



Highlights

License required in 35 states
27th most burdensome licensing requirements
20th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Door repair contractors, also known as door installer contractors or garage door mechanics, contract with clients to install, service or repair opening and closing mechanisms of automatic doors and hydraulic doors.

Summary

Thirty-four states and the District of Columbia require a license to work as a door repair contractor. On average, these laws cost door repair contractors 407 days of training and $282 in fees and require them to take one exam -- the 27th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

License requirements for door repair contractors vary widely across states. Arkansas has the most burdensome requirements at five years lost to training, one exam and $175 in fees, while another 11 states require two years or more of experience. At the other end of the spectrum, Idaho only requires a $30 fee and Nebraska a $40 fee. Twenty-two of the states that license door repair contractors require no education or training.

(Last updated April 30, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Arkansas $175 1,825 1 0 0
2 Hawaii $815 1,460 2 0 18
3 Nevada $1,030 1,460 2 0 0
4 California $451 1,460 2 0 18
5 Arizona $765 1,460 2 0 0
6 Florida $421 1,460 1 0 18
7 Oregon $345 1,462 1 0 18
8 Utah $477 730 2 0 0
9 New Mexico $318 730 2 0 0
10 Virginia $175 731 0 0 18
11 Maryland $379 730 1 0 0
12 South Carolina $250 730 1 0 0
13 Michigan $235 14 2 0 18
14 Alabama $592 0 2 0 0
15 Texas $500 0 0 0 18
16 Mississippi $200 0 2 0 0
17 Rhode Island $200 0 0 0 18
18 Louisiana $340 0 1 0 0
19 North Dakota $75 0 0 0 18
20 Tennessee $294 0 1 0 0
21 North Carolina $135 0 1 0 0
22 West Virginia $127 0 1 0 0
23 Alaska $300 0 0 0 0
24 Washington, D.C. $262 0 0 0 0
25 Massachusetts $250 0 0 0 0
26 Connecticut $160 0 0 0 0
27 Wisconsin $115 0 0 0 0
28 Washington $100 0 0 0 0
29 New Jersey $90 0 0 0 0
30 Delaware $75 0 0 0 0
31 Montana $53 0 0 0 0
32 Pennsylvania $50 0 0 0 0
32 Iowa $50 0 0 0 0
34 Nebraska $40 0 0 0 0
35 Idaho $30 0 0 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012