License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Optician



Highlights

License required in 22 states
6th most burdensome licensing requirements
42nd most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Opticians, also known as dispensing opticians and optical technicians, design, measure, fit and adapt lenses and frames for a client according to written optical prescription or specification, assist clients with selecting frames, measure customers for size of eyeglasses and coordinate frames with facial and eye measurements and optical prescription. Opticians also prepare work orders for optical laboratories containing instructions for grinding and mounting lenses in frames, verify exactness of finished lens spectacles, adjust frame and lens position to fit clients and may shape or reshape frames.

Summary

Twenty-two states require a license to work as an optician. On average, these laws cost aspiring opticians nearly two years in education and training and $184 in fees and require them to take three exams -- the sixth most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

Many states require a minimum of 12th grade and 18 years of age, but otherwise, license requirements for opticians vary widely. Nevada has the most burdensome requirements at more than three years lost to education and training, three exams and $350 in fees. At the other end of the spectrum, Texas requires only one day of training, two exams and $105 in fees, and California requires two exams and $141 in fees.

(Last updated May 2, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Nevada $350 1,128 3 12 18
2 Arkansas $200 1,120 2 12 21
3 Arizona $200 1,095 3 12 0
4 Rhode Island $70 1,095 2 12 18
5 North Carolina $250 910 1 12 18
6 New Jersey $25 857 2 12 0
7 Florida $850 730 3 12 18
8 Virginia $300 730 3 12 18
9 Tennessee $278 730 3 12 18
10 Washington $200 731 3 12 18
11 Kentucky $50 730 3 12 18
12 South Carolina $150 730 3 12 0
13 Georgia $115 700 3 12 18
14 Vermont $70 730 1 12 18
15 Hawaii $75 700 2 12 18
16 Connecticut $100 730 4 0 0
17 Massachusetts $54 730 3 0 0
18 New York $100 560 3 12 18
19 Ohio $96 467 2 12 18
20 Alaska $275 420 2 12 0
21 California $141 0 2 12 18
22 Texas $105 1 2 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012