License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Animal Control Officer



Highlights

License required in 17 states
88th most burdensome licensing requirements
58th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Animal control officers handle animals for the purpose of investigations of mistreatment or control abandoned, dangerous or unattended animals.

Summary

Seventeen states require a license to work as an animal control officer. On average, these laws require four days of education and training, $116 in fees and one written exam -- the 88th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. However, because animal control officers are licensed in more than a dozen states, it ranks as the 58th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Nine states require two to 23 days of education or training, while the other states all require an exam. The fees associated with receiving a license can vary from $749 in New Jersey to nothing in six of the states that license the occupation.

(Last updated May 3, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Michigan $0 23 0 0 0
2 Virginia $0 19 0 0 0
3 New Jersey $749 10 0 0 18
4 Florida $199 9 0 0 0
5 Washington $36 4 2 0 18
6 Maine $30 4 0 0 0
7 Kansas $0 2 1 0 16
8 Connecticut $200 2 0 0 0
9 Texas $115 2 0 0 0
10 Georgia $495 0 1 0 0
11 Oklahoma $68 0 1 0 18
12 Iowa $25 0 1 0 18
13 Rhode Island $10 0 1 0 18
14 Illinois $0 0 1 0 18
14 Kentucky $0 0 1 0 18
16 New York $50 0 1 0 0
17 Louisiana $0 0 1 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012