License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Crane Operator



Highlights

License required in 18 states
37th most burdensome licensing requirements
54th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Crane and heavy machine operators operate mechanical boom and cable equipment to lift and move materials, machines or products in many directions.

Summary

Eighteen states require a license to work as a crane operator. On average, these laws cost aspiring crane operators 221 days in training and $195 in fees and require them to take three exams -- the 37th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

License requirements for crane operators vary widely across states. New York has the most burdensome requirements at three years lost to training, three exams and $150 in fees, while another five states require between 233 days and two years. Most of the other states require no experience but rather three exams, fees and a minimum age of 18.

(Last updated April 30, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 New York $150 1,095 3 0 21
2 New Mexico $194 730 2 0 18
3 Connecticut $100 730 2 0 18
4 Delaware $260 730 1 0 0
5 Washington $165 466 3 0 18
6 Montana $100 233 2 0 18
7 Hawaii $715 0 3 0 21
8 New Jersey $415 0 3 0 18
9 West Virginia $240 0 3 0 18
10 North Carolina $165 0 3 0 18
10 Minnesota $165 0 3 0 18
10 Nevada $165 0 3 0 18
10 Maryland $165 0 3 0 18
10 Utah $165 0 3 0 18
10 California $165 0 3 0 18
16 Massachusetts $75 0 3 0 18
17 Pennsylvania $0 0 3 0 18
18 Rhode Island $105 0 2 0 18

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012