License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Court Clerk



Highlights

License required in 4 states
55th most burdensome licensing requirements
90th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Court clerks or deputy clerks perform clerical duties in courts of law; prepare docket of cases to be called; secure information for judges; and contact witnesses, attorneys and litigants to obtain information for the court.

Summary

Four states require a license to work as a court clerk. New Jersey's requirements far exceed the other states, with a $50 fee, two years lost to experience, one written exam and a minimum grade and age requirement. The other states only require one to 23 days of education.

(Last updated May 3, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 New Jersey $50 754 1 12 21
2 Tennessee $0 23 0 0 0
3 Mississippi $0 1 0 0 0
3 Wisconsin $0 1 0 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012