License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Cosmetologist



Highlights

License required in 51 states
17th most burdensome licensing requirements
4th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Cosmetologists and hairstylists provide beauty services, such as shampooing, cutting, coloring and styling hair and massaging and treating the scalp and may also apply makeup, dress wigs, perform hair removal and provide nail and skin care services.

Summary

Every state and the District of Columbia require a license to work as a cosmetologist. On average, these laws cost aspiring cosmetologists 372 days in education and $142 in fees and require them to take two exams -- the 17th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied, making for the fourth most widely and onerously licensed occupation. Days of education range from 490 in South Dakota, Iowa and Nebraska to 233 in New York and Massachusetts. All states require at least one exam, and most require two or three. Fees range from zero in North Dakota to $325 in Nevada.

(Last updated May 3, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 South Dakota $80 490 3 12 18
2 Nebraska $165 490 1 12 17
3 Iowa $175 490 1 12 0
4 West Virginia $185 467 3 12 18
5 Idaho $245 467 2 10 16.5
6 Montana $75 467 2 12 18
7 Wyoming $102 467 2 10 16
8 Utah $90 467 2 0 0
9 Nevada $325 420 2 10 18
10 Wisconsin $193 420 2 12 18
11 Kentucky $125 420 2 10 16
12 Colorado $165 420 2 0 16
13 North Dakota $0 420 2 12 0
14 Hawaii $70 420 1 0 0
15 New Mexico $180 373 3 10 17
16 Arizona $185 373 2 10 23
17 Alaska $240 385 2 0 0
18 California $125 373 2 10 17
19 Vermont $235 350 3 12 18
20 Minnesota $245 362 2 12 0
21 Washington $70 373 2 0 17
22 Maine $131 350 3 10 17
23 Alabama $275 350 2 10 16
24 Mississippi $190 350 2 12 17
25 Texas $178 350 2 12 17
26 Washington, D.C. $230 350 2 8 17
27 Georgia $125 350 2 12 17
28 Delaware $173 350 2 10 16
29 Kansas $95 350 2 12 17
30 Missouri $125 350 2 10 17
31 South Carolina $80 350 2 12 16
32 Arkansas $115 350 2 10 16
33 Rhode Island $50 350 2 12 18
34 Oklahoma $40 350 2 12 17
35 Maryland $100 350 2 9 17
36 Ohio $76 350 2 10 16
37 Louisiana $75 350 2 10 16
38 Indiana $199 350 1 10 18
39 Illinois $229 350 1 8 16
40 Michigan $40 350 2 9 17
41 New Hampshire $124 350 2 12 0
42 Tennessee $190 350 2 0 16
43 Virginia $170 350 2 0 0
44 North Carolina $158 350 2 0 0
45 Connecticut $90 350 1 8 0
46 Oregon $90 338 2 0 0
47 Pennsylvania $149 292 2 10 16
48 Florida $125 280 2 12 16
49 New Jersey $110 280 2 12 17
50 New York $70 233 2 0 17
51 Massachusetts $172 233 2 0 0

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Return to License to Work main page

Email Address
Please enter a valid email address
Share

Institute for Justice
901 N. Glebe Road, Suite 900
Arlington, VA 22203
Tel 703.682.9320, Fax 703.682.9321
© 1997-2012